Skip to content
7 Comments leave one →
  1. Meeta Choudhury permalink
    August 1, 2010 5:09 pm

    wonderful words.

  2. December 13, 2012 12:28 pm

    I simply dissolve into tears when I think about this … Simply dissolve … My mother hated her sex, as did her mother & her mother’s mother … Generational CSA became part of family culture … As mother of another daughter, I am *beyond* obsessed with need to break ground into unknown emotional territory … This campaign stands as a symbol in my mind of the brutality women deal with globally … While I grew up with ads saying “We’ve come a long way baby”, I was falling asleep to the lullaby of my mother being beaten … doesn’t seem like we’ve come far at all … except deeper into self-delusion of what the world offers women … My grrrl gets judo classes alongside her ballet – NOBODY will ever take her down easy.

    • Makana permalink
      January 31, 2013 6:00 pm

      If it gives you any comfort, reading this made me happy. It sounds like you’re doing the right things for your family when generations past had such difficulty. And keep up the good work on letting your little girl learn Judo~! I’ve heard that Judo’s not exactly easy, so she’ll be a force to reckon with if anyone even DARES try to mess with her~ 😀 …Makes me wish all the more that I knew some Judo teachers around here. Hmm… :\

  3. January 4, 2013 7:21 am

    Reblogged this on Jestoryas's Blog.

  4. February 27, 2013 9:29 am

    50 million missing breaks my heart. I abhor everything India is allowing so called men to do to baby girls, women, the killing of young girls and women that have been raped. I would love to travel to India and speak to groups of men and teach them that if there weren’t women there wouldn’t be men. Women from India are beautiful, I don’t understand how they don’t value the life of a baby girl or women of all ages. We need to intervene and teach Indian me that women are to be honored, loved and cared for. This story enrages me to the very core of my Soul. Send me over to India with a few other strong minded women like me who aren’t afraid to speak the truth. Without women soon there will be no men. Wives should be taught to leave their husband if they are abused or told to kill their new born baby girl. The women should rise up against the men,move into a safe place where they can care for both baby girls and baby boys. They should raise their sons to love their Mother and value women as a needed commodity in a man’s world. They should put women on a pedestal and be thankful to have a woman in their life. The Government has to change their rules and demand that men value all women. Sincerely, Tamara Lesley

Trackbacks

  1. Was bedeutet das Logo der @50millionmissin (*) Kampagne? | “50 Million Missing” - 50 Millionen Verschwunden
  2. Que Veut Dire le Logo de la Campagne des 50 Millions Manquantes: @50MillionMissin? | The 50 Million Missing Campaign: Les 50 Millions Manquantes

Leave a Reply

