Skip to content

Indian Bachelor Blues: A Song

May 29, 2010

“Indian Bachelor Blues” is a song that was inspired by The 50 Million Missing Campaign.  It has been composed and performed by Neil Pharr.

The gender ratio is so horrifically skewed in India right now, there are about 50 million more men than women in the population.  Assuming the majority of these men are heterosexual, the scope of their finding a wife and partner seems bleak!

Hear the song on U-Tube!

Read the lyrics below:

© Neil Pharr. Music and lyrics.  ALL RIGHTS RESERVED.

Indian Bachelor Blues

I don’t know how to cook curry
But that is the least of my worry
My future wife is missing
Missing – missing – 50 million missing!

I was dreaming of a honeymoon cruise
But I’m stuck in Mumbai with the India Bachelor Blues
I was in my hometown when I got the news
I am just another victim of the Indian Bachelor Blues

I don’t what to hear about karma
I don’t wont to hear about cosmic drama
I don’t wont to hear about my fate
I’m just looking for a my soul mate

I don’t want to become a cynic
But I heard something about an abortion clinic
I was dreaming of true love dressed in silk
I don’t want to hear about grandma and a bucket of milk.

It ain’t no consolation – knowing she is living in distant constellation
I am just stuck here living the Indian Bachelor Blues
I am just stuck here living the Indian Bachelor Blues

I don’t know how to cook curry
But that is the least of my worry
My future wife is missing
Missing – missing – 50 million missing!

One Comment leave one →
  1. irit permalink
    May 29, 2010 8:12 pm

    thanks to Neil Pharr for the hard beautiful touching song.

Leave a Reply

