Skip to content

Take The Anti-Dowry Pledge! Be Counted!

March 3, 2011

As part of our ‘War on Dowry’ project we are launching the ‘War on Dowry’ pledge [See 'War on Dowry' project; Join 'War on Dowry' facebook group]

We urge all Indians (in India and abroad), as well as all non-Indians (who in whatever way connect with Indian communities), to take this pledge.

This pledge drive is an attempt to convince  people to take individual responsibility in the fight against dowry,  which is the cause of India’s female genocide.

So lets take the ‘GREED’ out of Indian weddings! Sign the pledge below and make your INDIVIDUAL ACTIONS COUNT!


THE “WAR ON DOWRY” PLEDGE:

1.       I will not accept any dowry or extravagant wedding gifts (of a cumulative value of Rs.20,000/- or more) or favors (in cash or kind), even if these are offered to me or my family.

2.       I will not give any dowry or wedding gifts that are demanded of me and my family, and I will sever contact with any family that makes such a demand and report them to the police.

3.       I will not marry/ marry my daughters into a family that gives or takes dowry in any form.

4.       I will not attend or support weddings where I am aware that dowry and/or extravagant gifts have been demanded and given.

Sign the pledge by clicking here or on the photo.

© The 50 Million Missing Campaign. All Rights Reserved. Please see our copyright notice.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 4, 2011 6:01 am

    Respected Rita Je,

    I am going through a very bitter experiences practically, I promise in future, not to be part of such meance (dowry) in any form for the rest of my childrens.

    I am facing the outcome of paying for full-filling the demands of my daughter’s in-laws, i was not of the opinion that this greed of peoples might go upto such extent by which the family of victim can go in tremendous losses and the life of inhibitants may traumatically converted to such a situation where we have to live life without feeling any joy and happiness in future.

    I am realizing the true values, what should parents supposed to give their childrens now, these are:

    Don’t save enough money thinking that you have daughters.
    Rather Go on spending on their future, on study and for a healthy atmosphere to live.

    No family of Greed will be satisfied, even if you give them beyond your capacities. It is a bad luck of parents who have daughter’s.

    So, please don’t go with money in the form of dowry at any cost.

    God Bless You

    Girendra Singh
    An Unfortunate Father

    • March 4, 2011 6:13 am

      Dear Mr. Singh,

      We are so glad that you have spoken up on your own painful experience, and we HOPE that other Indian women and their parents are listening to you!!! It is so important for people to listen to the message you have here. We need to completely destroy the practice of dowry before it destroys more young women. We wish you strength — and we are glad for the voice and the strength you bring to our campaign! Thank you!

    • March 4, 2011 7:01 am

      Thanks Rita Je, I assure you my full support for any cause for Genocides. My family is now completely changes to live for the sake of daughters only. We practically facing the life without daughter, no justice, no money, no achievements will fill the space of our heart in which Anshu was living. In truth, it is beyond to describe the pain and agony of such a family. I am ready with my full strength what almighty God has given to me.
      I want to be a contributer fellow for Genocides in future, I PROMISE.

  2. April 4, 2011 12:24 pm

    I am with you on this. A dowry to me is the stupidest ‘law’ I ever come across and it is also an insult to a girl by saying to her that she is some piece of property to be sold off. For goodness sake, girls are human beings with dignity!

  3. NoName permalink
    January 15, 2014 8:28 pm

    I wish I could take this pledge, Its a love cum arranged marriage and I am given this option, I am a boy and feeling like hell because my family don`t want to take a stand against this stupid dowry system. Now Dowry is renamed as regard… Emotional blackmail, anger etc. is used, because I can`t say No because the girl is of my choice. Feel like ending this life.

    • January 16, 2014 11:32 am

      NoName – Many young Indians are afraid of taking a stand against our own family when they are wrong. Why? Because society keeps telling us that family is very important. In that case can we be angry with the government and political parties when they are corrupt and do wrong things. They also behave like a family protecting each other and staying silent when someone from them does wrong. The youth of India has to know that the corruption we are fighting in goverment, we have to fight that corruption in our family too. It is the first step to change. Can you respect your family if they do things that are illegal and corrupt? Should you? Ask your conscience and stand by the side of what you know is morally right.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 23,022 other followers

